If you’ve found this page, chances are you’ve accidentally archived a post, or simply want to learn a bit more about the features available on the Instagram app. In this article, Lion Sourced show how to unarchive a post in just a few clicks, while also explaining what archiving a picture actually does (and why sometimes, it’s a great idea!)
- Unarchiving an Instagram post can be done in a couple easy steps:
- Sign into your account on a mobile device by using the official Instagram app.
- Head over to your profile and tap the trio of lines in the top right-hand corner.
- From here you can select ‘Archive’ to bring up all of your archived stories (All stories are automatically archived) and posts you have moved there.
- Tap ‘posts’ and visit the picture you wish to restore to your feed.
- Select the ‘Unarchive’ button and boom – this post will now be showing up in your feed as if it was never archived at all.
What Archiving A Post Actually Does
When you archive a post on Instagram, you are essentially hiding it from showing up on your profile feed. The picture will maintain all of the likes, comments and other features associated with it, making it the perfect way to hide the visibility of a post for a set period of time. When (or if) you decide to unarchive this post, it will show up in the same place as before – it will not be shown as a ‘new’ upload to your followers and the date of publish will show as the original.
Why Would You Archive An Instagram Post?
One of the most popular reasons for using the archive feature on Instagram, is performed by businesses who want to hide products that are currently out of stock. They can keep the picture advertisements of a product concealed until they have it available for purchase again – This way, potential customers visiting their profile will only see items that can be bought immediately.
Savvy influencers use archiving to gain a deeper understanding of their following. When signing up to a website in order to sell shoutouts, or other means of promotion, an influencer needs to provide information such as how many impressions their posts receive in a certain period of time. After this set period of time has expired, the post can be archived in order to keep all of the relevant analytics associated with it.
Every day Instagram users can also use archiving to simply hide pictures they aren’t 100% on – either because of their appearance, the setting or an individual featured in the picture. By archiving the post, it is saved and therefore not lost forever, offering a better alternative than just deleting it.
That concludes this brief article about archiving an Instagram post – Make the most of this feature however you see fit. Keep in mind that archiving a post means it is only visible to you and ensures that the option to download the picture stays permanently.